Animecast: Music of Summer 2014 Anime


If you’re keeping up with the latest simulcast of the Summer 2014 Anime line-up, you must have taken note of the many musical gems that flow from these shows. In this episode of the Animecast, we spotlight the best openings and endings as well as spotlight the artists behind them.

From the epic rock of Yousei Teikoku, to the brilliant mind of Sawano Hiroyuki, to the sugar high of Team Hanayamata; there’s no genre left untouched!  See the end of this article for a complete list of all the songs featured in this episode!

We hope you all enjoy!

Download MP3

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

If you like our show, the best way to support us is to tell others about us!  You can also rate and subscribe on iTunes, Zune, or use our RSS feed.  Click the links on the side bar for easy access.

Something catch your interest in this episode or something you want us to expand on? Leave us a comment on the forums and join the discussion!


Songs spotlight in this episode:

  • “The Glory Days” by Tia from Captain Earth as well as her song “Heart Realize” from Noragami.
  • “Kimi Janakya Dame Mitai” by Masayoshi Oishi from Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun.
  • “Unravel” by tk of Ling Tosite Sigure (also Female and Miku Ver) from Tokyo Ghoul and Ling’s song “abnormalize” from Psycho Pass.
  • “Rashisa” by Super Beaver from Barakamon as well as their song “Shinkokyu” from Naruto.
  • “Innocence” by NoisyCell from Barakamon.
  • “Natsu no Hi to Kimi no Koe” by Choucho from Glasslip as well as her song “Sora to Kimi” from Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet.
  • “Tomei na Sekai” by nano.RIPE from Glasslip as well as her song “Hana no Iro” from Hanasaku Iroha.
  • “Hanaha Odori Reya Iroha ni Ho” by Team Hanayamata from Hanayamata.
  • “Silver Salvation” by Yousei Teikoku from Tokyo ESP as well as her song “Kuso Mesorogiwi” from Future Diary.
  • “Trigger” by Yuki Ozaki from Terror in Resonance as well as his song “Aoi Shiori” by Galileo Galilei from Anohana.
  • “Dare ka, umi o” by Aimer from Terror in Resonance.
  • “Fukyagaku Replace” by My First Story from Nobunaga Concerto as well as their song “Savior of Song” featuring nano from Arpeggio of Blue Steel.
  • “IGNITE” by Eir Aoi from Sword Art Online II as well as her song “INNOCENCE” from Sword Art Online.
  • “Startear” by Luna Haruna from Sword Art Online II.
  • “heavenly blue” by Kalafina from Aldnoah Zero as well as her song “Magia” from Puella Magi Madoka Magica.
  • “aLIEz” by SawanoHiroyuki feat Mizuki from Aldnoah Zero.
  • “Believe in Yourself” by Mao Abe

Co-Founder of and Co-Host of the OtakuSpirit Animecast. A huge fan of anime since the early 1990s, consuming over 1300 shows. Outside of Otaku Spirit, he has been a judge for the Anime Awards and aided in reviewing titles for some publishers. While he's late to the collecting scene, he's found a lot of joy in filling his DVD/Blu-ray collection as well as collecting figures. Sharing this joy, he posts unboxing and feature videos on anime goods to YouTube.